26
Jan
11

Things They Don’t Tell You About Weight Training

1.  It takes a long time to get big.  Years.  I’m not talking Hulk big, maybe Aquaman  or Flash, whoever, it still takes a long time.  And when you reach 40 your testosterone levels drop and even with a lot of work, the average person will only put on about 5 lbs of lean muscle.  SO, start young.  I really don’t need more than 5 lbs of lean muscle added each year.  In three years, that would be 15 lbs.  That’s plenty big for me.  It’s not a bad thing that it takes a long time, but if you are just starting out, don’t lose heart.  Just keep at it.   If you are in it for the long haul you’ll get less frustrated.

2.  Six packs are mostly a nutrition thing.  They show up when you have a low percentage of body fat.  There are bathroom scales that measure body fat percentages (around 30 bucks).  I have one, and it’s cool.  Oh,and if you want valleys and ridges in your six pack (once you are lean–I’m not yet) you’ll need to work them the way you do other muscle groups, with weights once a week pretty hard.  You can work them every day, too, but your muscles will develop differently.  Someone who runs every day will have strong legs ready for endurance stress, but they probably aren’t as likely to get as big as the guy who does squats and dead lifts.   From what I can tell, your abs work the same way.

3.  Muscles aren’t built when you lift. That’s when they get beat up.  They get bigger when they recover and come back stronger.  When do they do that?  While you sleep, so get a good night’s sleep or you won’t grow.

4.  If someone looks crazy big they are probably using steroids.  If you want to look like them, I wouldn’t bother asking them for advice because unless they really trust you, they’ll just make something up.  Why?  Because steroids are illegal.  I don’t judge guys who juice though.  In my opinion it’s just another supplement.  I won’t  be using them because with my hypotrophic cardiomyopathy, I can’t imagine it being a good idea.  From what I hear, once you stop using 90% of what you gain fizzles anyway.

5.  You have to be careful about the way you cut weight if you want to keep the muscle you’ve worked hard to gain.  It’s not as easy as eating less and moving around more.  In fact, at my current weight (195) I have to eat about 2200 calories to lose a pound of fat a week.  Anymore weight than that is supposedly cutting into your storage of muscle.  Having said that, I’m not sure you can really believe any thing you read about calories and nutrition.  There are a bazillion theories about “what works” and some are contradictory.  I do know I’ve lost weight while strength training in the past and did it pretty fast, and my muscle growth was lame during that time.   I’ve decided this time around to focus on gaining mass, so that means I’ll focus on eating enough of the right kind of calories, doing cardio 30 minutes a day, keeping my workouts mixed up and getting plenty of rest (the hardest part for me, actually).

6.  If you are not breathing hard and struggling to push out the last rep of each set that you do, you probably aren’t challenging your muscles enough for them to grow.

I seem to discover new things no one told me about strength training every week, so I’m sure i’ll add to this list as time goes by.  If anyone has any of their own surprises, please share.  A good dose of realism goes a long way in this hobby.

19 Responses to “Things They Don’t Tell You About Weight Training”


  1. January 5, 2013 at 7:43 pm

    This is a thing that I’ve wanted to know more about for a great deal of time. Many thanks for the info!

  2. March 14, 2013 at 10:23 pm

    Definitely believe that which you said. Your favorite justification appeared to be on the internet the easiest thing to be aware of.

    I say to you, I certainly get annoyed while people think about worries that they just don’t know about. You managed to hit the nail upon the top and also defined out the whole thing without having side effect , people can take a signal. Will likely be back to get more. Thanks

  3. April 13, 2013 at 3:21 am

    Hi there, You have done a fantastic job.

    I’ll definitely digg it and personally suggest to my friends. I’m sure they will be benefited from this
    web site.

  4. April 21, 2013 at 9:33 pm

    I think this is among the most vital information for
    me. And i am glad reading your article. But want to remark on some general things, The website style is wonderful, the articles is really excellent : D.
    Good job, cheers

  5. April 28, 2013 at 2:35 pm

    This paragraph will help the internet people for setting up new webpage or even a blog from start to end.

  6. May 7, 2013 at 2:15 am

    Hi everyone, it’s my first pay a visit at this site, and piece of writing is genuinely fruitful in favor of me, keep up posting these posts.

  7. May 13, 2013 at 1:17 pm

    It’s truly a great and helpful piece of info. I’m glad that you simply shared this useful info
    with us. Please keep us informed like this. Thanks for sharing.

  8. May 26, 2013 at 9:41 am

    Wonderful, what a web site it is! This blog presents useful information to us, keep it up.

  9. June 13, 2013 at 12:14 pm

    When I originally commented I clicked the “Notify me when new comments are added” checkbox and now
    each time a comment is added I get several e-mails with the same comment.
    Is there any way you can remove me from that service? Appreciate it!

  10. June 14, 2013 at 1:22 am

    This site truly has all of the information and facts I needed about this subject and didn’t know who to ask.

  11. June 19, 2013 at 11:13 am

    I’m gone to inform my little brother, that he should also pay a quick visit this blog on regular basis to take updated from most recent information.

  12. August 6, 2013 at 3:24 am

    This is the perfect web site for anyone who wants to understand
    this topic. You realize a whole lot its almost tough to argue
    with you (not that I really would want to…HaHa).
    You certainly put a brand new spin on a subject that’s been discussed for ages. Great stuff, just great!

  13. September 10, 2013 at 9:07 pm

    Greetings! Quick question that’s completely off topic.
    Do you know how to make your site mobile friendly? My
    blog looks weird when viewing from my iphone. I’m trying to find a theme or plugin that
    might be able to fix this problem. If you have any recommendations, please share.

    Appreciate it!

  14. July 24, 2014 at 7:59 pm

    I am truly glad to read this webpage posts which includes tons of
    valuable information, thanks for providing these information.

  15. August 8, 2014 at 6:15 am

    I must thank you for the efforts you’ve put in penning this site.
    I’m hoping to check out the same high-grade content
    from you in the future as well. In truth, your creative
    writing abilities has inspired me to get my very own website now 😉

  16. September 21, 2014 at 12:15 am

    WOW just what I was looking for. Came here by searching for
    news

  17. September 30, 2014 at 11:01 pm

    I’m really enjoying the theme/design of your weblog.
    Do you ever run into any web browser compatibility issues?

    A small number of my blog readers have complained about my site not working
    correctly in Explorer but looks great in Safari. Do you have any tips to help fix this problem?

  18. October 3, 2014 at 1:58 am

    Hello my friend! I want to say that this article is amazing, nice written and include almost all vital infos.
    I’d like to see more posts like this .

  19. October 9, 2014 at 1:19 am

    Thank you for any other informative blog. Where else could I am getting that kind
    of information written in such an ideal approach?
    I’ve a undertaking that I am just now working on, and I have been on the look out for such information.


Leave a Reply

