22
Jan
09

Biggy Smalls

Not the rapper. That phrase describes our life now- a much smaller world that feels much bigger. When we first shared the good news about our son with our friend Sarah, who is a mom and the librarian at C.’s school, she said, “You don’t know it yet, but your social life has just changed.”

At the time I sort of knew what she meant: we’ll meet a lot more parents with kids, etc. The truth of what she really meant finally dawned on me as I was driving home yesterday from school with C. and his friend James in the backseat. My new social set is made up mostly of nine-year olds whose parents are trying to get a break from them! That’s really fine with me. C. is a very social animal especially if you are a nine year old and/or willing to play Lego Star Wars for hours on end. He and James really hit it off fast at school, and C. told me that James already feels like his “cousin” (translation = best kind of friend).

I like all of the friends C. is meeting. They are most entertaining. If you haven’t spent much time with nine year old boys, you should know that they think they are hilarious and typically are, but not for the reasons they believe. I’m starting to see that nine year olds are sort of like 80-year old men in that they can be entertained by talking about their bowel movements for hours. Yesterday as we drove home C. and James were trying to top one another’s stories about who had clocked in the longest recorded number 2 effort. James said he nearly missed an an entire Reds baseball game sitting on a toilet getting rid of the remnants of a Lean Cuisine meal that didn’t agree with him. “Two hours, I was in there! I haven’t eaten Lean Cuisine since,” he said.

Even C. was amazed at that one, and that’s saying something since he’s known for taking his own sweet time in the bathroom, too. Sometimes when he’s been in there a good long while, he’ll call out for us just to make sure we’re still somewhere in the house. Even though we would probably have time for a trip to the mall and a stop at the grocery store before he emerged again, it hasn’t sunk in for him yet that we would never leave him in the house by himself.

So our home has become our world in a way that it never has before. C. is becoming a homebody, which is good news because it means he is starting to experience his home as “home.” That can be challenging for someone whose life has completely changed recently. That we are spending time at home is a good thing in a lot of ways. And fortunately, our neighbors and good friends who have a son about C.’s age invite us over for dinner and to play a lot, which is helping him love his neighborhood, too.

As our life becomes centered on the geographic locales of school, church, home and neighborhood, we are starting to notice things that we never did before, like new friends and challenges to keeping friends without kids engaged in our lives. And our eyes are ever scanning the horizon for good babysitters as John and I prepare for the day when we can have a date night. Having C. has certainly brought John and me closer as a couple. At least that’s the way I’m choosing to characterize recent comments I’ve made to him, things like “You know you can never divorce me now. I will chain you to the basement stairs before I ever let you leave me.” Could be time for that date night sooner than I think. Don’t want the world to become TOO small.

7 Responses to “Biggy Smalls”


  1. January 22, 2009 at 5:17 pm

    I saw your title of this post and thought, “Troy is so current. What a hip Dad.” I need help understanding how the title and the text relate. But that’s neither here nor there. What is here and there and now and current and hip and wonderful and blessed is the fact that your life is unfolding beautifully. Each day you live together makes the family foundation that much stronger and solid for C.
    Now, about those “movement” stories of C.’s. When he gets into his later teen years and it will feel a little more “ok” to talk about such things with him, I can spend hours sharing some of my own stories. If you do your research, you’ll find that some of our great, legendary comedians often used this topic as a basis for their humor. I think C. is on to something so I would say, “just let it go.” (couldn’t resist)

  2. January 22, 2009 at 6:03 pm

    I can see why you were confused, David. Too big a hurry to write well. I added something to the second sentence frag to help out. And believe me, I’ve let a LOT of things go in the last month.

  3. January 22, 2009 at 6:04 pm

    I want to babysit!! I guess I should probably meet C first, but I am completely willing.

    I love these stories you shared. Please keep them coming. I think nine year olds are so funny and I love hearing the back and forth conversations.

    Sounds like you and John are old pros already. So happy for and proud of you!

  4. 4 crystal
    January 22, 2009 at 6:18 pm

    I am still giddy that you are a daddy! And you are going to love the thought processes of a 9 year old πŸ™‚

    I love talking to my niece and just imagining her itty bitty mind at work and it’s just priceless. Reminds me of how dumb we are as children and how utterly brilliant we were at the same time πŸ™‚

  5. January 22, 2009 at 10:51 pm

    Lego Star Wars rocks. Now I know what I have to look forward to in a couple of years πŸ™‚

  6. January 25, 2009 at 10:19 pm

    One of my nieces is nine and she is a hoot. They say the funniest things without even knowing its hysterical. I love it! Can’t wait to hear more about your adventures with kids, but please never forget those friends without kids. They always need you to…I think some of our friends have forgotten us since they had babies until they need a babysitter. πŸ˜‰

  7. February 12, 2009 at 2:42 pm

    Reminds me of my 6 year-old friend Lauren who ask me to stand outside the porta-potty in the campground and wait for her. After 15 minutes of waiting, in which Lauren continually asked me if I was still there and gave me updates: “It’s still coming out.” Her mother happened by and the minute she saw me said, “Oh I’m so sorry! You got roped into one of Lauren’s epic poops.”


Leave a Reply

