12
Jan
09

Welcome Home, C!

Four years ago as I wandered through one of those organic everything food coops in Minneapolis with my friend Kris, I shared a secret with her.
“John and I are trying to adopt,” I said.
“Adopt a what?” She asked as she clasped the most tender of the leafy greens from a bulk vegetable bin with small pair of plastic tongs.
“A kid,” I said holding onto the cart.
She dropped the tongs, turned to look at me and said, “Are you out of your mind? Don’t do it!”
“Why not?” I asked, immediately offended by what I interpreted as a lack of confidence in my latent parenting skills. “You’re a parent!” I laced that last accusation with a thick layer of if you can do it, I can.
“Which is why I can tell you in full confidence that this is the silliest idea you have ever had. Heartache! Heartache! That’s what you’re shopping for! Don’t you know?” Kris has a charming ability to overstate her case in a way that actually makes you think about the case she’s making. And for the record, she’s actually crazy about her college-aged daughter.
As we shopped, Kris continuing her diatribe and me feeling sorry for her daughter whose middle name it seemed might as well be “heartache,” I did find myself taking one of many of the steps back I’ve taken over the last four years and asking myself, “is this really what we want?”
The good news for same-sex couples is that we aren’t in much danger of “accidentally” getting pregnant. Almost all children who end up in families like ours are planned for. There are many opportunities along the way for reflection and healthy second-guessing.
Well, I’m happy to inform any reader who may not know the truth already that after four years of thinking, praying, studying, home studies and document filling out, John and I are now parents.
Our new son, who I will call C., is nine. We met him over Thanksgiving. After meeting and talking (he had to meet three potential families) he chose us and we chose him. He came to live with us in mid-December and man, what a journey it’s been so far.
He’s a mighty fine gift. I’ve known for some time that children are a gift from the Lord, but I’ve since decided that I never knew just how many ways they could be. Having C. in our lives is like having a magnifier held in front of the sun and over every aspect of our lives – more light, more heat, and a clearer view than ever before. Not to mention a sense that things are going to spark up at any moment.
So Good Home will be getting a family twist in the future. I can’t promise posting will be regular, since we are still getting into our routine, but I’ll do my best. I hope you will hang in there with us. And please pray for us as we create the life God has for us together!

6 Responses to “Welcome Home, C!”


  1. 1 Chris Hagerty
    January 12, 2009 at 3:44 pm

    I am so happy for you and John.

  2. January 12, 2009 at 6:18 pm

    I’m getting a little teared up here for you guys. Congratulations! You’ve done such a wonderful thing and I’m so glad that you are now a family of three. It’s just awesome!!

  3. January 13, 2009 at 2:32 am

    I am so incredibly happy for you and John and C! Can’t wait to meet him.

  4. January 16, 2009 at 1:01 am

    Awesome news and its so sweet! Praying for your new journey!

  5. 5 crystal
    January 19, 2009 at 7:35 pm

    hot damn!!!
    FINALLY something good happens to deserving loving couples that involves children getting a home instead of being shuttled from foster care to another one.
    NOW that’s something I’d love to see on my news ad nausem.
    Nancy Grace—hello, call these wonderful parents!!!!
    I am soooooooo thrilled for you!
    This gives a whole new meaning to “good home”.

  6. January 22, 2009 at 2:48 pm

    I’ve always enjoyed reading your blog. You have such a beautiful way with words, even when discussing the ordinary. Now for this post–Wow! I’m so happy for all three of you! Everyone needs love and you have opened your home and heart to that dear child. As a mother, I can so relate to the many ups and downs. Please know that you and your entire family are being prayed for. Best wishes!


Leave a Reply

