20
Nov
08

Now That’s What I Call A Brine

Darn that giant magical food elf, Chris Eley. So I was at Goose The Market’s website ordering a country ham for Christmas dinner. On their home page Chris, one of the owners and in my opinion a closet Southerner (no one likes the pig as much as you do who isn’t, Chris), has a cute video of him brining a turkey. And we’re not talking just throwing your bird into a bucket of salt water.

Toasted star anise, cinnamon stick and mustard seeds, sliced oranges, brown sugar, flat leaf parsley, garlic, lemon, bunches of other things and of course salt (He even provided the full shopping list that you can print out). And, I promise, he makes it look easy.

We weren’t going to roast a turkey for Thanksgiving since we’re having one at a friend’s house on Sunday and then having Thanksgiving dinner at Broadway Church on Turkey Day. But I’m thinking we might have to order one of Chris’s fancy free runnin’ birds now and try this recipe.

I wonder where I can get a turkey injector this late in the game.

Update: So I went to The Goose to order my turkey and found out they will even put together all of the ingredients you need for the brine and sell it to you along with the turkey! I just pick it all up along with the bird on Saturday. If it’s tasty enough I’ll take a picture and post the results.

4 Responses to “Now That’s What I Call A Brine”


  1. 1 sandysays1
    November 20, 2008 at 6:37 pm

    There goes my diet! Again! Happy T day – SandySays1.wordpress.com

  2. 2 Running Peanut
    November 21, 2008 at 1:27 am

    What is brine?

  3. November 21, 2008 at 9:23 am

    Salty water is brine. People soak their turkeys and other meats in a mixture of salt water for a time because salt does to it what it does to us when we eat a lot of it, helps it retain moisture. And in the case of the food, flavor, and in the case of Chris’s brine a LOT of flavor I hope.

  4. November 21, 2008 at 3:27 pm

    Wooo sounds delicious! I hope it turns out great so we can see pictures. You know here in the south its all about the deep fried turkeys lately. Delicious, but ohhh so fattening!


Leave a Reply

