24
Oct
08

Batesville, Arkansas Home Tour (Part 2)

Edward Dickenson House – 1879-1880

Edward Dickenson House - 1879-1880

Kind of screams Arkansas Gothic, doesn’t it? But there’s a sweetness to the rounded windows and gothic arch. Not too much, but just right. Early photos show shutters for the bottom story windows. The millwork is from the historic Batesville firm of Charles L. Gorsuch.

First United Methodist Church – 1913

First United Methodist Church - 1913

First United Methodist is my parent’s church now. I’ve always thought it was a handsome building. I grew up going to the church across the street, so I saw it no fewer than three times a week until I went to college. The rock for the columns was extracted from and carved by the Pfeiffer Stone Quarries north of town.

As I walked by I saw the sign for the Chubby Menard Pancake Day. My family never missed Pancake Day, which as far as I know has always been hosted by First Methodist. I never knew who Chubby Menard was, but if he loved pancakes (and sausage, which they serve along with the pancakes) as much as I do, I know how he got his name. When I was in high school I used to work Pancake Day as part of my Key Club duties. Fun and tasty.

Chubby Menard Pancake Day

Brewer House – Late 19th Century
Brewer House - Late 19th Century

No one is sure how much of this house is original, which is why I’m giving you such a sketchy date. But it still looks well designed even if it was cobbled together over decades. I’ve always wondered about the Chippendale looking balustrade on the porch. It seems unusual for this late style, but it still works, I think.

J. B. Fitzhugh House – 1884
J. B. Fitzhugh House - 1884

Like a lot of the Main St. houses, J. B. Fitzhugh House was changed from an elaborately painted Queen Anne mansion with plenty of turrets into a more reserved Colonial Revival home around the turn of the 20th century. In most cases this meant scalping off a turret or two and dramatically increasing the porch size like you see here. As hot as it is in Arkansas, I’m not surprised porch sizes got bigger and bigger.

Barnett-Grace House – 1921

Barnett-Grace House - 1885

All I really know about this house is that it’s where my friend Rob’s sweet grandmother and grandfather lived.

Burton-Arnold House – 1904
Burton-Arnold House - 1904

This house is across the bayou in West Batesville, which was once a separate town called Charleston. It’s small scale, big porch and shady lawn makes me want to live there. I kind of like the red roof, too.

Christian Science Meeting House

Christian Science Meeting House

I have no history on this building, but isn’t it sweet and kind of perfect? It just sits there on its little built-up hill like a cake decoration. I do know that for such a tiny place it has a really nice pipe organ, which is located inside the lower window of the steeple tower. My first experiences playing the organ were here. It was when my music teacher Mr. Hess got a wild hair. He let me talk him into giving me a summer of organ lessons instead of piano. It didn’t really pay off, not for him at least. I’m no organist, but I did develop a love for organ music. That counts for something, right?

Final part of the tour is coming soon. It will be shorter.

6 Responses to “Batesville, Arkansas Home Tour (Part 2)”


  1. October 24, 2008 at 3:35 pm

    I hate to say that Brewer House reminds me a little too much of the house in the movie “Carrie”. Yikes!
    I tried hard to convince my family to go to the Pancake breakfast in Sheridan a few weeks ago. It sounds so yummy.
    I love the Burton Arnold House…there are several of these in Sheridan and I want one.
    The church is lovely. There is a Presbyterian Church in Des Arc that has a pipe organ that is wonderful and the setting is perfect in those old churches.
    The JB Fitzhugh House is very similar to my parents home that they restored in Oklahoma. I loved that house. We finally sold it about 3 years ago because we had lived in Arkansas for so long by that time and never really went back very often. I’m sad to say it was turned into a gift shop & beauty salon. Yuck!
    Thanks again for sharing the wonderful photos and stories.

  2. October 24, 2008 at 6:17 pm

    Keep ’em coming Troy. Lovin’ me some Good Home posts.

  3. March 20, 2012 at 1:18 am

    Re: the Christian Science Meeting House . . . It was built largely due to the largesse of the Crouch (Funeral home) family, and in particular, the son of Frances Crouch. The architectural design is closely modeled after a colonial period church in Philadelphia, PA (where Frances Crouch’s son was a lawyer). The organ was installed onsite late in 1958, by D.A. Flentrop (a Dutch organbuilder), and the solo recital was performed by E. Power Biggs (from Harvard) in (i think) the Fall of 1958. (I was there but I don’t remember the exact date). The organ, and in a complementary sense, the building, are of immense, indeed almost incalculable significance to me, as I was to go off (from Heber Springs, AR) to the U of A to study organ with Kenneth Osborne in the Fall of 1959, and later to visit Batesville in the company of Mr. Osborne and others many times during the following years, often to be fed at quaint and endearing luncheons in the Crouch home by Frances and her husband. Afterwards, in the afternoons we spent our time in the organ loft at the meeting house, exploring organ music superbly fitted to this milieu. . . . A Treasure!, not just for Arkansas, but for the world.

    — Nathan Privitt

    • 4 Anonymous
      March 22, 2012 at 11:11 am

      Nathan, thank you so much for this information. It makes this post infinitely better. And it is so nice to know about the Crouch connection.

  4. June 2, 2013 at 2:09 am

    Hmm is someone else going through difficulties with
    the pictures about this website launching? I am looking to decide if
    the a challenge in my stop or maybe it’s the weblog. Any suggestions can be significantly valued.

  5. June 12, 2014 at 12:45 am

    I love Batesville. My mom is an Arkansas College (now Lyon) graduate. I spent this morning driving down main taking a few photographs while my youngest son was at the Lyon College baseball camp. I’m particularly fond of the Coca-Cola mural on the building close to Ozark Furniture.


Leave a Reply

