17
Sep
08

Fry Day 2008

Some days were just made for frying.

A couple of weeks ago we had our biannual artery jamming hootenanny, Fry Day, which is basically a good time with a fryer, friends and family who happen to be around. Folks from Arkansas (Lori, Felley, Georgette and Julie) who always bring a car load of good food to go with our good times made it extry special. And even our new next door neighbors joined us. I wasn’t sure how they would take to something so backwoods happening in our backyard, but they were totally down with it.

Here’s MY Fry Daddy. Hot.

Fry Day

This year we had two fryers going. Duane and Todd loaned us one of theirs. I love this picture of Duane. We were totally feeling the power of the oil.

Fry Stud

Some food highlights:

Eric and Chris brought Spam to fry, inspiring several trips down memory lane. I hate to admit it, but I still like it.

Spam, spam, spam, spam...

Dave was the poster boy for fried mac and cheese, the sleeper hit of the day.

Fried Mac and Cheese

Jane’s first hushpuppy. I loved the expression on her face when she first heard the name. She gave it a thumbs up. Rev. Mike is a harsh judge of hushpuppies, and he said these passed the test. Virginia Willis’s recipe I think.
Jane's First Hushpuppy

The deep-fried brownies were tasty. The deep-fried Kit-Kats were better in theory.

Bad dessert/Good Dessert

Lil’ Peachez is so cute he didn’t need to be battered and fried for us to want to eat him up.

Lil' Peachez

5 Responses to “Fry Day 2008”


  1. September 17, 2008 at 1:21 pm

    I love it. In what other post would it have been appropriate to use the term “extry”? Great post, great food, great times!

  2. 2 lmb
    September 17, 2008 at 3:51 pm

    Next time I’m in Indy, I think I might have to walk down to your house with my friend jaq. After reading this post, I suspect y’all might be undiscovered soulmates.

  3. September 18, 2008 at 1:54 am

    WAIT! I need more pictures!!

    The fried Kit Kat looks so interesting. How did the fried pickles turn out? They were some of my favorites last time. I’m so sad I missed it this year. Seeing the pictures made me even more sad.

  4. September 22, 2008 at 4:22 pm

    How fun and tasty! I think this should be a national holiday.
    I think Spam on a stick with some jalopeno cheddar dipped in corndog batter would be a state fair winner.

  5. November 22, 2008 at 4:25 pm

    I just came across your blog. YUM! How do I become your friend?

    I agree with Susan, Fry day needs to be a national holiday!

    Good Job!


Leave a Reply

