09
May
08

A Good Idea for Your Fridge

I’ve been obsessed with the Democratic primaries and posting a lot on GrowingSense, so I apologize for ignoring Good Home.

Still don’t have a lot to post, but I ran across a simple idea from Barb Berggoetz in the Indianapolis Star the other day that seemed so practical. Ready for it?

Take your vegetables out of the crisper drawer in your refrigerator and keep them on a more visible shelf where you are more likely to use them. If you’re like me, you should add the step of scrubbing the swampy goo out of the drawers. THEN, put your soft drinks, or some other over-consumed temptation, in the crisper, and let the memory-erasing powers of those plastic drawers transform them into less of a temptation.

Of course, it might be a good idea to figure out a way to stack vegetables in the main cavity (eww, sounds like a hollowed out side of beef) of the refrigerator. Any ideas? And don’t berate me on how “not fresh” my veggies are gonna be, since limp ones are better than liquified ones any day.

4 Responses to “A Good Idea for Your Fridge”


  1. 1 lmb
    May 9, 2008 at 2:43 pm

    I’ve been doing this for years! If I put veggies in the crisper, I will forget about them for, well, a long time. I use my crisper drawers for beer.

    I have not, however, found a great way of keeping the veggies organized in the main part of the fridge. I’ve experimented with special green plastic bags (they’re reusable) to try to extend the life of the veggies, but it doesn’t do much organization-wise.

  2. May 9, 2008 at 3:07 pm

    Wow. Very good idea. (Our soft drinks are in the garage and I STILL find a way to access them regularly, so this will be a challenge for me. But seeing the vegetables would definitely help.)

    Not sure how to stack them, but I’m sure The Container Store has something.

  3. 3 juliebelle
    May 11, 2008 at 2:28 pm

    we keep our cans in the crisper–this technique works.
    hmm. what about some sort of clear acrylic plastic box-you can see the contents inside. the container store sells them. alton brown uses a version for bulk dry goods that i like a lot. i used them a lot when i worked in industrial kitchens—i bet you could find an affordable solution if you went to a commercial kitchen supply store.

  4. May 13, 2008 at 1:07 pm

    I agree. Good idea. Just a clear plastic rectangular tub from Target. Those poor veggies, out of sight, out of mind. They’re out of touch, they’re out of time.


Leave a Reply

