22
Mar
08

Princeton U. – A Good Life

I’ve been negligent about posting and checking on my favorite blogs for a lot of reasons, which I’ll explain when I figure them all out myself. One reason I do know of is that I had to prepare for the last of my consulting gigs, this one at Princeton University’s art museum.

While I was there, Caroline (not to be confused with the Caroline who cuts my hair), my host took me to eat lunch in the faculty dining hall where they have a fresh floral arrangement in the foyer every single day.

Flowers

I loved the contrast between the fuchsia and pink of the flowers against the rust colored walls and wanted to remember the combination for future design inspiration.

I knew Princeton was well financed, but it never dawned on me how well until as we ate I remarked about a beautiful garden outside a nearby window. Caroline said that it was endowed with so much money that they have a hard time spending it, so they change every plant in the garden on a monthly basis, with the exception of the boxwoods and what looked to me like a few arborvitae.

I didn’t have a ton of time to tour the campus, but what I saw was really lovely. Here are just a few photos of buildings I thought were interesting:

Princeton

Princeton

Princeton

Oh, one more fun note. Princeton is an elegant sounding name, isn’t it? Before the school was moved to Princeton and adopted the village’s name, Princeton was known as the College of New Jersey. A good PR move, I think.

5 Responses to “Princeton U. – A Good Life”


  1. March 30, 2008 at 9:48 pm

    Amazing flowers! And I love those old buildings.

  2. 2 juliebelle
    April 1, 2008 at 3:20 pm

    gorgeous arrangement.
    i’m going to try out the color combo in my dining room or living room. don’t know which yet.

  3. 3 juliebelle
    April 7, 2008 at 5:58 pm

    i love the floral color combo. i’ll have to remember it–the walls in the foyer are quite similar to my living room and dining room.

  4. 4 Interested in an Interview?
    April 14, 2008 at 10:16 pm

    Dear Troy,

    Would you be interested in an interview by the campus newspaper? I would be really interested in hearing what you have to say…

    If yes, please e-mail me.

    T.S.
    tshamma@princeton.edu

  5. April 25, 2008 at 3:14 am

    Wow, those colors are beautiful..


Leave a Reply

