04
Feb
08

Good Service for Good Home

Had our friends Ron and Kevin over for dinner last Saturday night. I was making Country Captain and needed some good chicken parts. So I trotted on down to Marsh Marketplace (used be O’Malia’s) where I typically buy all of my meat.

I chose my parts and asked the guy waiting on me to chop the breast halves in half again so that they would be the same size as the other pieces.

He looked at me with a very confused look on his face and said, “But they are already in halves.”I said, “Yes, I know, but I need those pieces cut in two again so that they will be finished cooking at the same time as the other pieces.”

He looked back to another meat counter employee who was packaging pork chops and said, “He wants these breast pieces cut in two,” which caused the guy to emit a most annoying sigh.

I asked, “Is there a problem? You guys are butchers, right? The other guys who work here do this for me all of the time.” Silence.

As guy one took the pieces (we’re talking two pieces that I needed cut) back to guy two, guy two picked up a wispy thin fish deboning knife and started to cut on the pieces. What do these people normally use to cut meat? Sonic waves?

I finally said, “Okay, just wrap the pieces up. I’ll cut them myself with my CLEAVER when I get home.” They wrapped them up and I walked away in disbelief.

As I shopped I happened to catch sight of the store manager who was thankfully working on the floor. I clued him in on what had just happened, and he assured me that he would take care of it and that what I had asked for was exactly the kind of thing the meat department should be doing. Not a bad response, but a BETTER response would have been:

“I’ll let the guys know that this is not an atypical request. In fact, if you have time, let’s walk back to the meat counter and I’ll have someone cut those breasts in half for you before you leave.”

No such luck. But as the title of this post suggests, Good Home found good service this weekend, too.

Now you’re going to hear me do something I hardly ever do: praise a store in Carmel. In Clay Terrace! A Starbucks!! I wish I had something else to put here so I could use three exclamation points!!! That works.

So, here you go. Dave and I were up at Clay Terrace boring ourselves silly by going through home stores with nothing much interesting to see except these glass balls at 3 Chairs

Happy Fun Balls at 3 Chairs

and these ceramic pig heads from Z Gallerie that I think cross a line into slaughterhouse creepy, but that David kind of dug. Ironic that I would be the one less impressed with them, given that I’m one of bacon’s biggest fans.

For your home?  Really?

Actually 3 Chairs had more interesting stuff than my current crumudgeonly mood will allow me to share (some other post), and the staff was super friendly and knowledgeable to boot. Plus, they didn’t run us out when we accidently stayed past closing time. Oops! Sorry, 3 Chairs.

Nice as they were, I was nonetheless stupefied to the point of needing caffeine so I requested that we stop in at Starbucks, which was close by (I secretly like Starbucks. There, I said it.)

We walked in and for some reason I decided to order french pressed coffee made with the decaf of the day. Danny, the 17 year old (according to his co-worker) who was waiting on us was enthusiastically supportive when I told him that we wanted pressed coffee.

He said, “But if you order a French Press, you can choose from any bean we have. Do you want me to help you choose the perfect bean for you?”

The perfect bean, for me?! Not being one to sneeze at perfection, I gave him a hearty, “You bet!”

So he came from behind the counter, which always impresses me, took us over to the beans and asked us what we liked (smooth, bold okay, remember the decaf) or did not like (not so into citrusy) in a coffee, and finally pointed us to the Komodo Dragon blend, which was really good.

As he was brewing he told us why French pressed coffee is so good (no paper filter to stop the oils from brewing with the coffee) and answered my questions about the best presses, about the different coffees, etc.

This man knows his stuff. So if you find yourself at Clay Terrace, stop in at the Starbucks and ask for Danny. Tell him Troy at Good Home sent you. Keep my name to yourself at the Marsh meat counter though, not that you every have to worry about getting cut by someone there. But I hear their sonic wave slicers are deadly!

8 Responses to “Good Service for Good Home”


  1. February 5, 2008 at 2:01 am

    I assumed you were going to say the manager insisted that they cut it for you. That’s nuts! It would be different if you had asked them to cut it into 500 pieces, but in HALF? Wow.

    I think the pig heads are interesting…not scary.

  2. February 5, 2008 at 2:01 am

    Oh, what is Country Captain?

  3. February 5, 2008 at 1:47 pm

    Country Captain is a curried dish with Charleston roots that starts with sauteed chicken. The final mixture stews in the oven for about an hour and a half. It’s a fun dish for entertaining because of all of the condiments you serve with it. I’m still tweaking my recipe, but I’ll post it here sometime soon. It is a fun one to make so I’m looking for any excuse to try it again.

  4. February 5, 2008 at 2:20 pm

    Ah yes. Good times, good times.

  5. February 5, 2008 at 2:52 pm

    I’m glad he told you why French press coffee is better; I’ve always wondered. Also, I love Starbucks. I used to be ashamed of it, but I’ve just decided to embrace it.

  6. 6 annabel
    February 9, 2008 at 3:37 am

    ok, so THIS is you too. now i know how you found me. i stumbled on this blog one day whilst searching for decorating inspiration, loved it, and linked to it. i didn’t make the mental connection until now. (i’m slow…and you have a lot of blogs.)

    so will you adopt me? everything on this blog is some combination of gorgeous and (assumedly) delicious, and your friends all look so warm and happy, and y’all seem to be having great great fun.

  7. February 10, 2008 at 3:36 am

    Consider yourself adopted Annabel! I think you’d fit right in here.


Leave a Reply

