25
Jan
08

In Search Of– White Stone Ground Grits in Indy

I want to make grits with shrimp paste as an appetizer (Scott Peacock and Edna Lewis recipe here) this weekend, but I can’t find any stone ground white grits around here, only yellow ones, which are polenta. I’m sure the yellow grits would be fine, but I think the white grits would make a smooth textural and more neutral backdrop for the shrimp. Not sure that the yellow kind would work as well. Plus, and I know it sounds provincial, I never ate yellow grits growing up.

I should probably give Wild Oats a call, and I welcome advice from Hoosiers. I tried O’Malia’s downtown and Sunflower Market in Broad Ripple. If I can’t find the white ones, should I go ahead and make the yellow ones? I already bought the shrimp.

Update: This story has a very happy ending. Chris at Goose – The Market on Delaware was able to hook me up with some white stone ground grits. They were the creamiest, smoothest grits I’ve ever had. A little butter and a little cream – a lot of stirring, like 1 hour and 20 minutes- and a spoonful of a buttery shrimp mixture (see recipe link above) made those grits supreme. Totally worth the trouble. Thanks Chris!

12 Responses to “In Search Of– White Stone Ground Grits in Indy”


  1. January 25, 2008 at 2:39 pm

    My first thought was Wild Oats, or maybe even The Good Earth in Broad Ripple?

  2. January 25, 2008 at 3:26 pm

    You’re right, it does sound provincial. But had you not particularly noted that, I would have thought the statement made complete sense.

  3. 3 juliebelle
    January 25, 2008 at 3:38 pm

    i’ll look at whole foods on my way out of town.

  4. January 25, 2008 at 4:11 pm

    Update: No luck at Wild Oats, Trader Joes (though they do have a rolled tube of it), Cracker Barrell, or Good Earth.

    Karen suggested I call City Cafe and ask them for two cups since they have them on the menu. He didn’t have any stone ground, but suggested calling Goose Market, the new place on Delaware. I did and they say they have them. I’m going at lunch to see if they really do.

  5. January 25, 2008 at 5:06 pm

    Happy, happy birthday! I hope you found the white at lunch.

  6. January 25, 2008 at 6:35 pm

    Thanks Jennie! And good news, Goose Market had the white stone ground grits. Weird thing is, they didn’t have it to sell on the shelves. I think the owner actually went back to the back to get some from his private stash, but I’m not sure how they use it on their menu, which is mostly sandwiches, gelato and various encased meats and good cheeses.

    More good news they had slab, unsliced applewood smoked bacon which should make for some awesome greens!

  7. 8 Angela
    January 26, 2008 at 1:34 am

    Hey- Scott makes shrimp and grits and he uses yellow grits- I’ll have him send you his recipe. Happy Birthday!

  8. 9 George
    January 26, 2008 at 3:36 am

    What is your e-mail? We have to have lunch. I am on a severe diet, though, and I can have only cabbage or carrots. E-mail me at georgehanlin@yhahoo.com to arrange.

    G.

  9. January 28, 2008 at 4:21 am

    I love grits. Glad you found your white. I will say that any cheesey grit is welcome on my plate.

  10. February 9, 2013 at 11:31 pm

    Found natural stone ground white and yellow grits at Fresh Market.


Leave a Reply

