27
Dec
07

Home For Christmas

John and I drove to Arkansas for Christmas with my people.

As my niece and cousins demonstrate, we’re a loungey family when it comes to Christmas.

Lounging

Most of the time we like to sit around under one of the 20 throws my mom has, read, talk, and eat. We could hike, but doing that in the hills of Arkansas this time of year is likely to get you shot by hunters.About the most active we get is setting off fireworks on Christmas Eve (we had to blow ’em up Christmas night this year and the big ones we bought were less than stellar, but the neighbors still seemed appreciative even though they and their young kids had waited up until 10:30 the night before for them). We also sing Christmas carols, which we did a lot this year both at our house (mom’s tip jar is next to the “juke juice” aka, wine glass, on top of the piano),

Christmas Singin'and at our friends the McClain’s house.More Singin'

We popped in on Christmas eve to drop off a few gifts. Luckily (at least for us) we got there just in time for the saingin’. We don’t look like we’re having fun, but we are. We just had to concentrate really hard because Jennie is so good she can play really challenging arrangements.This was a special Christmas because both my sister’s family and we were able to be there at the same time, which hardly ever happens.

Christmas NightAND my aunt and uncle and cousins came down with my mamaw.Mamaw and the Cousins

This is my mom and Aunt Judy. Aren’t they cute?

Mom and Aunt Judy

I really miss getting to see my cousins. We did some prelim planning for a camping trip on the Buffalo River and I’m hoping we can make that happen.

On Christmas Day we drove back up to Mamaw’s retirement village, which had just gotten a major facelift. She was so proud of it and despite not feeling tip-top she insisted on giving us a guided tour.Check out this ice cream parlor. She said residents can come down for free dessert anytime.

John and Christie

Art and live plants lined the halls. She showed us the plants she donated, waters and takes care of, which I think is great since she would be miserable without plants to care for.She also likes the new sun rooms with views of trees and outdoor walkways (she walks for exercise almost every day).

Family Tour

There was also a cute cafe with a library attached, which is great, but as John walked by one of the shelves he noticed this bizarre title:

Eek!  Retirement village reading?

Then we saw this one,More good reading

Just across the hall from this poster:

P1020869

Well, at least the mix is interesting.Merry Christmas to all of you who we didn’t get to see this year.  Hope to get to hear about your holidays soon!

8 Responses to “Home For Christmas”


  1. December 27, 2007 at 3:59 pm

    I’m cracking up at the book selection! And the ice cream parlor? So cool!
    Looks like a wonderful time with your family.

  2. December 27, 2007 at 7:33 pm

    Me too. Love the titles. Somethin’s goin’ on down in Arkansas. Okaaaayyy?
    Everyone looks lovely and the homes do too. Troy, I now see your decorating influences.

  3. December 28, 2007 at 3:56 am

    What a wonderful Christmas! I hope next years ours is not spent mostly in our vehicle but otherwise this year was much like the last. We spend a lot of time lounging, playing games, eating, singing, and eating some more. Did I mention we eat? LOL!

  4. December 29, 2007 at 12:31 am

    I hate that I didn’t get to see Christie, but at least it’s fun to see her in pictures! Your Mamaw is too cute. I’m soooooo glad you popped in during the sing-a-long – it was the best ever this year.

  5. 5 Kara
    January 2, 2008 at 4:41 pm

    I’m so glad all of us could get together this Christmas! E-mail me some of those pictures…

  6. 6 crystal
    January 4, 2008 at 7:34 pm

    wow, those are wonderful pictures and i love how your family went all out. fireworks and all.

  7. January 11, 2008 at 10:22 pm

    I love the photo of your mom and her sister holding hands. That’s too sweet.

    What an odd collection of books for a retirement home! Too funny. I love family Christmas photos. We did a lot of lounging and eating as well. Surprisingly, I didn’t gain a pound this year! 🙂

  8. 8 George
    January 13, 2008 at 4:25 pm

    Holy s—! Free dessert at the ice-cream parlor and sexually suggestive books? I’m moving in with Mamaw.

    So nice to see your family Christmas photos–it all seems so loving and peaceful, unlike mine, which this year included screaming, crying, door slamming, and my sister throwing people out of her house. The violence of DeQuincy befell me this year!


Leave a Reply

