17
Dec
07

Claire’s Big Day

It was a big day for Claire.

She sat for her Christmas picture.
Cliche Pet with Santa Hat Photo

She went to her friend Barney’s to play.

Ready for Action

And play.

Claire and Barney

And play.

Claire and Barney

She wondered why were weren’t playing.Claire

Then she came home and ate a third of the birthday cake I made to give Karen at work (sorry, Karen). Evidently Claire’s tongue doubles as a surgical knife.

Claire's Leftovers

She had a nice rest in her crate while I yelled at her. She told herself over and over again, “it was worth it, it was worth it, it was worth it” and “man, that was a good day!”

Hiding Out

She’s fine by the way, no “chocolate poisoning” or whatever dogs are supposed to get when they eat chocolate. Though she may be coming down with a case of “owner’s foot up dog’s ass” soon.

8 Responses to “Claire’s Big Day”


  1. December 17, 2007 at 2:26 pm

    Love her Christmas picture!!

    What kind of icing is that on the chocolate cake? It looks amazing!!

    Poor Claire. You can’t blame her for wanting to eat it. I’m glad it didn’t make her sick.

  2. December 17, 2007 at 2:47 pm

    She is so cute!! I can’t believe she ate that cake though – sneaky 🙂

  3. December 17, 2007 at 3:38 pm

    Sneaky is right.

    Jennie, the frosting is a boiled vanilla frosting. Very easy. Let me kwow if you want the recipe.

  4. December 17, 2007 at 3:42 pm

    Actually, it’s the frosting from this post without the lemon.
    Scroll to the bottom.

  5. December 17, 2007 at 4:45 pm

    Troy,
    I’m glad I’m not the only one who thinks Claire is precious. She is very smart and knows that you need to do some measure of carb replacement after a play session.
    I’m beginning to think it’s not a good idea to place any edibles in her range. How much room do you have on top of the refrigerator?

  6. December 17, 2007 at 9:38 pm

    Claire’s picture is adorable! I would have been sneaky around that cake as well…go Claire! I’m glad the chocolate did not make her sick though.

  7. December 18, 2007 at 3:39 pm

    Love the hat!

    Even though, from personal experience, I know that it was a maddening experience for you, I also love that she ate almost exactly a third of the cake and no more. Very precise.

  8. December 26, 2007 at 9:51 pm

    My dear departed dog Carly ate a whole chocolate cake, and I thought if it killed her it was just desserts for depriving me and my family of cake. It didn’t kill her though, she just lost control of her bladder for a couple of days, the perfect definition of adding insult to injury! Claire is much more beautiful than Carly, who never sat for a Christmas picture.


Leave a Reply

