11
Dec
07

The Holiday Pickins at Sullivan Hardware

Wildflower Home
(Dave, doing his best “discrminating shopper.”)

A few years back Sullivan Hardware, an old Indy standard, opened a store at Keystone and 71st. Their new place features Wildflower Home, a stand alone cottage which carries their home dec stuff and product that Dave and Ken really like. I’ve been pretty ambiguous about the place. They have a few nice things, sort of pricey. I would normally put it into the “lots of potential” category, but this time around I liked more of what I saw.

I still think I may have to make this wreath work somewhere in our house. Kitchen maybe?

Wildflower Home Wreath

And for some reason I love this metal deer head. Dave suggested it might look good on our back porch. I think it could look equally great in an all white modern space or a cabin. How about a kid’s treehouse?

Metal Deer Head

There’s typically plenty of real greenery around here, but actual berries can be hard to find. These Winterberry branches were really nice.

Winterberry

And I loved the painted branches, too. Would be worth the five or so bucks not to have to choke on the fumes.

Painted Branches

This train is the kind of thing kids will remember when they are older.Train Station

The only sour note was when it was my turn to check out at the hardware store. A random couple from Brownsburg (for some reason they announced their origins when they waltzed through the door) approached my guy and said they wanted their Christmas tree. And instead of calling someone or smiling and saying, “you’re welcome to get in line” or “I’ll be with you in a moment” he just walked away to help them, leaving me standing there. After watching him futz around with them for a few minutes and waiting longer than I should have, I finally put my stuff down and left. Dave told me I should have said something, but sometimes (admittedly, not often) I just don’t feel up to arguing.So if you aren’t in a hurry and need some greenery (or red-ery), a free bag of popcorn, or a few interesting holiday things, you may want to stop into Sullivan.

5 Responses to “The Holiday Pickins at Sullivan Hardware”


  1. December 11, 2007 at 9:13 pm

    Very good discrimanting shopper Dave. 🙂

    We often drive by Sullivan’s – it seems so big. Now that I see there is a train, we’ll have to make a stop.

    I like the deer head (at first I thought I’d scroll down to a real one!)

  2. December 12, 2007 at 3:05 pm

    I saw that same wreath at a party we went to on Saturday. She had it in her kitchen and it looked really nice. I get so mad when I’m being waited on with stuff in hand and another customer interrupts. I have all kinds of nasty thoughts that run across my head but of course I smile and leave like nothing happened! Oh…I love the winterberry’s. Our wreath on the front door is made of them.

  3. 3 gunstreamgirl
    December 12, 2007 at 3:20 pm

    LOVE the deer head, too. this year for christmas, i asked santa for a framed beetle (rhino or stag), a pair of antlers, and a deep freezer. now who’s hanging on to the past??
    it’s disappointing to have so many finds and then have the guy just walk away when you’re at the register. that’s bad customer service.
    anyway, it seems worth stopping by again in the future, just to see the train.
    and the round wreath would look GREAT in your kitchen or back ‘laundry’ room–especially now that you have that red chair and other fun pops of color.

  4. December 12, 2007 at 4:57 pm

    Antlers are so hot right now Julie. I’ll keep my eyes out for you. When I lived in Texas they never went out of style. My friend Ellen had a chandelier made of big stag horns that was actually beutiful and elegant. Hard to imagine I know.

    Maybe Jennie can bag a deer for you this Christmas. I know David wishes he could.

  5. December 13, 2007 at 8:55 pm

    Save the deer, save the deer. Antlers are on sale this very moment at Pottery Barn. They were 25.00 and are now down to 15.00. Hope they have some left. Of course they’re faux but they look pretty good. I was thinking of buying some and tossing them on the trail for my friends to “discover” and I would laugh uproariously at their sorry asses for being fooled. But that’s mean I guess. Anyway, just an FYI on where to find them.

    Regarding the Sullivan’s cashier? I forget to say something when this stuff happens because I am so flabbergasted that words will not escape my mouth. I hope that I can be quick enough the next time something like this happens. I believe that both the clerk and the Brownsburg powerhouse couple, need to be made aware of what they’re doing.


Leave a Reply

