06
Dec
07

Prairie Creek Farms = Hoosier Folk Center

The first weekend in December means a trip to Duane and Todd’s for the Prairie Creek Farms’ open house. Duane and Todd’s home started as a small farm house, to which a previous owner built an addition. When Duane and Todd moved in they made their own additions. The result is an incredibly cozy homestead that is plenty large enough for giant family gatherings (they have lots of kin). One post isn’t enough room to share what there is to see there, so this time I thought I’d focus on my favorite winter spots in their house.

Window Mirrors

This is their hearth room. Duane had these old farmhouse windows turned into mirrors. He got them for their master bath, but they didn’t fit so he put them here, where I think they look perfect. I like the subtle, old paint finish.New Mirrors

Duane said:

I got them made at Townsend Glass in Westfield [Indiana]. But here’s the catch. Kevin Townsend got the salvaged windows several years ago and that is when I got the frames. I took them home to seal them and never got around to taking them back for the mirrors because they were too big for my original plan of putting them in the master bathroom. When I brought them in to fit with mirrors, he said “it’s a good thing you got those when you did because those old windows are getting hard to find. Most old homes have all replaced their windows now and you just can’t find them anymore.” So I don’t know if that means he doesn’t have any or not. Their number is 896-1259. They charged me only $75 each which I think was pretty reasonable.  

Lesson learned: Don’t wait to buy old, one of a kind things you love.

Loom

As if a hearth and these mirrors weren’t enough to make a room, they also have a working loom that belonged to one of Todd’s relatives. He let some of us try it out.Duane is a ceramicist, and one of the fun things about the open house is that you get to see (and buy if you want) what he’s been working on. I loved this peach vase (I like Duane’s kind of Chinois/Hoosier visual style).Friends from Arkansas were visiting John and me for the weekend, and they went to the PCF with us. Jennie and I both needed Chocolate Gravy pitchers. She got the one on the left and I bought the one on the right. They are the perfect size.Duane, Todd and the kids are so crafty, I’ve decided to refer to their place as the Hoosier Folk Center from now on.Oh, and this is my other favorite winter spot at their house – in front of the living room windows that look out on to apple trees filled with bird feeders.

Bird Watching

My pitiful photos do not do the scene justice, but I could totally survive winter with no problem if I got to look at frolicking birds having fun all of the time.

Cardinal

3 Responses to “Prairie Creek Farms = Hoosier Folk Center”


  1. December 6, 2007 at 2:16 pm

    First!
    Lovely home and lovely folks in it!

  2. December 6, 2007 at 3:32 pm

    I have a “window” made into a mirror from my great-grandmothers home and there is something so comforting about it. Love the picture of all those incredible windows looking out onto the bird feeders.

  3. December 6, 2007 at 10:00 pm

    What a beautiful home! The loom is amazing! I love that the mirrors are made from windows – what a neat idea.

    The red bird is just too perfect. A wonderful holiday tradition!


Leave a Reply

