27
Nov
07

Christmas Time’s A Comin’

Busy getting ready for the holidays, but wanted to show you a few finds. Mom, Dave and I went to the Country Friends Open House last Saturday. They had even more holiday stuff out than they did a week before. The holly and greenery at Country Friends is particularly good this year. I got this variegated type for our back porch chandelier because it had kind of a vintage look to it.

Porch Chandelier

I usually mix real with artificial, in this case with Frasier Fir remains trimmed from our tree. My mom got a more sage-colored, dusty green holly (sorry, I forgot to take pictures) that came in sprays as well as a garland. It was beautiful and more subtle than my garish taste usually allows me to get away with.

While poking around for Christmas I also found this red David Smith Windsor chair.

Red Chair
We just painted our mudroom from red to the same deep eggplant color that is in our kitchen and I was missing the red just a little. The chair scratches that itch and gives me something light to pull into the kitchen when we have more guests than chairs around Sam (our woodstove).

I kind of like the way it looks next to this sweet wreath Dave made us just in time for the holidays. Dave’s wreaths are normally more restrained.

Wreath
He said he made a conscious effort to make this one look like it was about to whirl off the door (even used bird feathers) because he knows I like wreaths that , well, look like they are about whirl off the door. Not sure why, but I do favor spiral shaped wreaths. Though the one I have for the front door seems pretty subdued in comparison. Pam at J. P. Parker flowers remade this one from an old one I had.

Reworked Wreath

I was so glad my mom and dad came up this past weekend. They helped us get our tree decorated and mom helped me haul out and place all of the “stuff.” I really don’t mind doing it, but having help always makes it a lot more fun.

4 Responses to “Christmas Time’s A Comin’”


  1. November 27, 2007 at 3:32 pm

    Everything is so lovely! I need to head over to Country Friends too – I think it’s much closer to my house now!

  2. November 27, 2007 at 3:35 pm

    I can’t wait to see it in person!
    : )

  3. November 29, 2007 at 3:47 pm

    Troy,
    The holly and pine chandelier is absogorge. Love the green and white against that Benjamin Moore Super White light and ceiling. It was a fun visit wasn’t it? Thanks for including me in the trip to Mike’s. I’ve decide to call Country Friends by another name. I now call it ” Mike’s.” I mean, after all, we’re already his country friends. It’s just that homey touch.

  4. December 3, 2007 at 2:36 pm

    And how much can I pay you to come decorate my little house? The greenery is beautiful and I need one of those wreaths for my front door. It matches my colors perfectly. =) I. Love. Red. Windsor. Chairs. That chair goes perfectly.


Leave a Reply

