23
Nov
07

Beth’s Pecan Pie

P1020441

This recipe can be doubled. Again, our friend Beth’s recipe. I was asked to bring a pecan pie to our Thanksgiving at John’s dad’s this year. I’m happy to do what I’m told, especialy when John’s step-mom, Linda, does most of the work (turkey, potatoes, dressing, noodles, etc.). But my family would tell you how ironic it is that I was asked to bring a pecan pie. My mom makes great ones, but I never ate them because we used fresh pecans from my grandfather’s giant tree in Arkansas. Sometimes a little pith would be left in the nut and the bitter taste bugged me. I’ve come to realize what a treasure that old pecan tree was, but not until I moved so far away that I can’t watch mom make the pie. Thankfully, our friend Beth came to the rescue.

Ingredients:

3 eggs
1 cup light brown sugar
1 Tbs. flour
1 cup dark Karo syrup
½ stick unsalted butter, cut into pieces
1 tsp. vanilla
1 cup pecans, chopped

Beth slices her pecans this way in no time. I was surprised by how easy it is to chop them by hand (I’m using a steak knife because our paring knife is missing), and the pecans have a nice even shape and size that makes slicing the pie easy. Bring the blade in on the “belly side” of the pecan.

P1020433

Directions:

Preheat oven to 350 degrees.

Beat eggs lightly. Set aside.

Place chopped pecans into empty piecrust (see Beth’s pie crust recipe).

In a large saucepan, work flour into brown sugar. With a big spoon, mix Karo and butter into flour mixture.

P1020437

Heat over medium heat, stirring frequently, only until butter is melted. Turn off heat and let mixture cool slightly in the pan. Stir vanilla into cooled mixture.

Stir about ¼ cup of sugar mixture into eggs. Then add egg mixture back to pan of brown sugar mixture and stir slowly until mixed.

P1020439

Pour mixture into crust. No need to do much rearranging. The mix will sort itself out.

P1020440

Bake for 35-45 minutes on lower middle rack. If you can avoid it, don’t open the oven door during baking time. Pie is done when filling is slightly domed with a few crack on top (see photo above). I could have taken this one out just a few minutes sooner. Place a foil cover around the crust portion if it starts to brown too much. Remove and cool.

6 Responses to “Beth’s Pecan Pie”


  1. November 23, 2007 at 2:11 pm

    These photos are wonderful. I think they need to be in a cookbook.

  2. November 27, 2007 at 3:24 am

    It looks delicious! I recently obtained a really good pecan pie recipe from Felley. It’s from a lady with arthritis – the crust doesn’t require kneading and can be mixed with one hand. It was incredible. Very light and flaky. I don’t remember if Felley sliced the pecans or not when she served us the pie. I tend to prefer whole pecans, but was just talking to Ashley Kennedy about it this past weekend and she can’t stand it when the pecans aren’t chopped. I had never thought about it until my conversation with Ashley, but find it interesting that you very clearly indicated that the pecans should be chopped. Maybe we should conduct a poll…chopped or unchopped?

  3. November 27, 2007 at 1:20 pm

    Good point Jennie. Now that you mention it, I wouldn’t mind seeing a few whole pecans in a pie, maybe on top of the pie. But I would probably prefer the majority of the nuts to be chopped. Beth’s were kind of the perfect size. I know I can’t stand it when the pieces are too small.

    P.S. I’m so impressed that Felley baked a pecan pie.

  4. November 27, 2007 at 2:53 pm

    I was impressed, too. It was the best pecan pie I’ve ever had – not too sweet with an excellent crust. I can’t wait to make it, but I’m afraid it won’t turn out as well.

  5. November 27, 2007 at 3:25 pm

    Of course it will, Jennie. You’re a wonderful cook!


Leave a Reply

