06
Nov
07

Goodbye Dominque. I’ll try not to stalk you.

David called me last night with a punch in the gut: Conde Nast will stop publishing House and Garden.  December’s will be the final issue.  

The New York Times noted that the shelter magazine market is a crowded one, and HG had lots of competition, including Conde Nast’s own upper market publications, like Archictectural Digest. For me, HG had a uniquely gracious, spacious and modern style.   

But with declining ad sales and the resignation of publisher Joe Lagani CN executives took the op to reevaluate the magazine.

What will I miss most? While I thought the latest iteration of HG (they closed once before in 1993 and reopened in 1996) was full of warm and sharp-witted interiors, it is Dominque Browning, HG’s editor-in-chief that I pine for most. Seriously, I feel like I know this woman. She understands the nuanced relationship between life (both the good and bad of it) and the spaces with which we surround ourselves.

Her rich and honest perspective resulted in an eye for interiors that reflected all that life in our homes can be and not just romantic and formulaic fantasies. These are what I saw in HG. I feel like a friend has moved away without telling me.

10 Responses to “Goodbye Dominque. I’ll try not to stalk you.”


  1. November 7, 2007 at 1:34 pm

    everybody hurts…sometimes.

  2. 2 Jackie D'Aoust-Trevino
    February 17, 2008 at 9:59 pm

    I just finished reading the substitute magazine, DOMINO, that Conde Nast sent to replace HG. Of course, it was extremely disappointing in comparison to the fresh, energetic and exciting publication you described so well in your article and the amazing editor, Dominque Browning. After reading that magazine, I went once again to the computer to see if there were any clues as to where she could be found as I also feel as though a friend moved away without telling me. I couldn’t click fast enough on the title of your article! I have in the past ripped out every one of her editorials to save as I followed the path of her life and her boys as I raised my own. I loved her stories of the pain and pleasures of gardening; and the fantasy of escaping into the beautiful homes and gardens in that publication. The design in HG and the covers alone took my breath away. I loved to sit with each new copy and delighted in whole experience. Not a bad addiction/escape for a midwestern working mom. I cannot forgive Conde Nast for not allowing her to say good-bye or warning us of its demise. I would have saved every copy rather than rip its pages. It goes without saying DOMINO nor any other home magazine that I’ve come across at this point can take its place.

    Thank you for your perfect voicing of my own feelings. Well said. Jackie

  3. February 18, 2008 at 2:24 am

    I’m still in mourning, Jackie. I was sent Architectural Digest as a substitute. AD is so impersonal and pretentious in my opinion. I guess someone is buying it though. I won’t be once this sub-subscription runs out.

  4. 4 Fran
    February 22, 2008 at 3:41 am

    Ditto to all comments above. Her editorial alone was worth the price of the magazine. Even though she is technically a stranger to me, I feel that I know her because she verbalized so many thoughts I’ve had….and so beautifully. Hopefully she will find another venue soon. My very favorite disclosure from her was “trying to hack into my son’s FaceBook page”. I thought I was the only one who’d done that!

    Although I posted a message on the H & G site expressing my gratitude for her work, I wish there were a place to send a personal note. She gave me so much joy, some tears, ideas for reflection and a-ha! moments, I’d like to acknowledge them.

  5. 5 Michele
    March 24, 2008 at 7:21 pm

    It is comforting to find my feelings shared by others. What a blow to lose such well crafted writing – not just the words, but also the observations. I have felt I lost a friend as Dominique seemed to be with me through some of my most painful moments….and my big regret is never having been able to express to her how much her writings have meant to me. Now they send me Domino – quite a waste of a tree. However, it is to be hoped that we have not heard the last from her ~ she has written a piece for the NY Times and I can only hope she will find a way to continue sharing her words and thoughts with us.

  6. March 27, 2008 at 5:44 pm

    And so many of us now wait for more insights and directions needing to be felt from the words of Dominique Browning…

    Where is she – Where can we read more and feel more of what she seems to understand?

    Bob Ginn, Tate GA

  7. November 5, 2008 at 8:00 pm

    It has almost been a year since Conde Naste executives made the decision to take my favorite magazine away… and I still feel the VOID… I dislike Domino as I find it caters to the 20 year old crowd of new homeowners and I find Architectural Digest to be attractive visually but so stuffy and an unacceptable substitute because it does not have helpful articles on decorating and gardening like House & Garden offered. I miss Dominique Browning’s columns – she was such a kindred spirit. I feel that there is no US magazine that caters to a seasoned multiple homeowner such as myself who likes tips on keeping my homes and gardens up to date. I would like to see House and Garden brought back.

  8. November 5, 2008 at 8:06 pm

    I agree, Victoria. House Beautiful is inching in that direction, but it isn’t there either. I wonder where Dominique Browning has been lately.

  9. 9 Juan
    November 8, 2008 at 11:22 pm

    It’s funny to see other people that feel exactly the same way I do. I feel like Ms. Browning stalker. I’m always checking the net so see if I can track what her new venue is, if she’s giving a speech somewhere, or if she has been hired by another decoration magazine.

    She’s a wonderfully talented lady, gracious and sophisticated, without loosing her human side. For her fans, there’s an interview with her and Charlie Rose on Youtube.

    I hope house and Garden returns some day, That was the first decoration magazine I subscribed to, and I feel to this day, it was the best, addressing every subject the common Joe needs to make his place comfortable, appealing and personal.

  10. April 5, 2009 at 11:12 pm

    I Love Dominque Browning as well–i really enjoyed the book Around the House and in the Garden—of course i adored her editor’s letters in HG. I live in Canada and of all the decorating mags i purchase–Canadian House and Home is my favourite–i am not sure if you can get it in the US but you might try it for a change if you run across it–i also buy the British Mag ‘LIVING ETC’ and their version of Country Living—they are very cool!


Leave a Reply

