23
Sep
07

Still Curious About Country Friends

I still affect a pathetic cry of despair every time I pass the empty Country Friends store on 86th Street in Indy.

I have two questions for my readers:

1. Where do you shop now for the things you used to buy there? I can’t think of any place else that has the selection of seasonal stuff that they had, at least not in this state. Batesville, Arkansas has Heritage House, but that’s a ways to go for Christmas decor. Then again, I do travel. Wherever you are, it would be interesting to know what your treasured home dec stores are. Please share.

2. Has anyone heard if Michael might be reopening another shop somewhere? I still have a gut feeling (call it retail intuition) that we haven’t seen the last of him.

Please share or give me a shoulder to cry on.

8 Responses to “Still Curious About Country Friends”


  1. 1 Nancy
    September 24, 2007 at 1:54 pm

    I shop at JB Winterberry in Wheaton, IL. Actually, I do a lot of looking and a little shopping. šŸ™‚ It’s a beautiful place with three shops under one roof, run by a mother & daughter.

  2. September 24, 2007 at 6:32 pm

    I know Troy, I know. Why does it have to hurt so bad?

  3. 3 Rosie
    October 11, 2007 at 7:25 pm

    Troy,
    I’m still living off of the massive amount of home decor items I picked up during their store closing. I don’t think I’ll EVER find a shop where I can buy the fabulous things that I found at Country Friends. I live just down the street from the old shop and it pains me to drive by each day and see all of the empty store windows.

    I did see a sign at the corner of 71st and Allisonville advertising the “Country Friends Warehouse Showroom” but when I followed the arrow, I found nothing. I came online looking for some info and found your site. Does anyone know the exact location of the new showroom or a phone number I could call?

    Thanks so much!
    Rosie

  4. 4 Jim
    October 23, 2007 at 5:08 pm

    They are at 71st and Binford

  5. 5 Lynn
    November 10, 2007 at 3:47 am

    Country Friends has ALWAYS been a favorite of mine, also. I am glad to hear it has not totally gone out of existence. I received a flyer in the mail this week about their open house. Another GREAT shop is on the west side of Indiana, in a little tiny spot called Cayuga. The Gingerbread Shed is SO delightful! Full of primitives, handmade dollies, herb gardens and MUCH MUCH MORE! It even has an outhouse totally decorated! Linda will have her open house this week-end, and I am sure she would love more company. Follow insterstate 74 to 63 south to 234 west and then into Eugene. It will thrill you if you love Country Friends!

  6. 6 Kathy W
    November 12, 2007 at 4:35 pm

    My friend and I also visited Country Friends several times a year. Has anyone gone to the new warehouse and when is their Open House? Tx, Kathy

  7. November 13, 2007 at 4:23 am

    Kathy, their open house was this past week, and it was packed! The check-out line snaked throughout the store. I talked to Michael briefly and it sounds like he’s planning another one in a couple of weeks (weekend of Thanksgiving?) and he’ll be enlarging the warehouse space for it. I hope to make it. Maybe I’ll see you there.

  8. 8 Kathy W
    November 15, 2007 at 12:19 pm

    Thanks Troy for the update, my family from Terre Haute also shopped there so I’ll pass on the word.


Leave a Reply

