16
Sep
07

Rug Dilemma-Resolved

I wasn’t ready to spend $1,400.00 for the rug I found online.

Not that this is an outrageous price. Decent 8′ x 10′ rugs can range from 5K to 20K. But that’s not the kind of budget we work with. I ran across an awesome light blue and white crewel number at William Sonoma Home, the perfect size, for $699.00 (that’s $700.00 to people not trying to talk themselves into buying a rug). The color was too light. Sad that it didn’t work and that I had more schlepping in my future, I trudged back to the north side. I stopped in Home Goods to check out kitchen wares and as I passed the rugs I saw this one:

Living room

The rug wasn’t there two days earlier when Dave and I made fun of the giant acorns that I would later blissfully buy, actually on the same trip I bought this rug. Perhaps I was blinded by the rug’s price, which was only $399.00 (that’s $400.00 to people who aren’t trying to communicate what a good deal they just found). And Julie, the large graphics and the richer color (which doesn’t come through in my photo) work better with the rug in the dining area, a concern I know you had. Now I’m not one to assign divine credit when it comes to shopping finds, but then again…

There are a few more addditions to the room, the crewel throw pillow (William Sonoma Home) on the red sofa and the green pillows (Crate and Barrel) on the striped sofa. Here is a picture of another pillow I bought later from Pottery Barn. It had a touch of the blue which I needed to work into the room a little more.

Throw Pillow

And more good news: I need to replace the little chair at the desk with something more subtantial, and just as I was about to start going back to auctions John’s mom showed us a pair of beautiful federalist looking sweeties that she said she would sell me. I can use the leftover fabric I put on this bedroom chair on the new chairs.

Reupholstered Wingback

While I’m at it, I think I’ll have a throw pillow made for the wood chair by the TV. If you’ve already read this far, you must be a design junkie. So tell me, any thoughts on how to trim said pillow? I have little experience in this area.

Also, I think I may need a coffee table now. Ideas? I’m thinking a couple of airy, squarish and maybe metal (old gold finish) tables, but that may be too obvious. I’m open to other directions.

3 Responses to “Rug Dilemma-Resolved”


  1. September 17, 2007 at 2:19 am

    Fabulous, simply fabulous.

  2. September 17, 2007 at 2:21 am

    I agree with your idea to place fringe on your pillow for the chair. How about a simple ivory fringe. Fairly dense but not dangly. Not shiny or loopy, just straightforward. I recall that the pillows in the living room are all knife edge or with a single welt. Fringe will be nice.

  3. 3 Mom Underground
    September 19, 2007 at 4:52 pm

    I love your living room. LOVE, LOVE, LOVE IT!


Leave a Reply

