12
Sep
07

Color: Neutral with splashes, and High Contrast

Elle neutral room

It’s a good thing great design is timeless because it has taken me forever to post these photos I mentioned from the September issue of Elle Decor. The first one is an example of a simple, neutral space with color used throughout.

purple dining room

I threw in the purple dining room with green and white highlights because I love high contrast spaces when they’re done well. I think the classical lines of the bust, the furniture and the Chinois lantern keep from giving the deep color a nightclub effect. Light a few candles (I would use black) and I would be jonesing for an invitation to that dinner party.

1 Response to “Color: Neutral with splashes, and High Contrast”


  1. September 13, 2007 at 1:17 pm

    Love the new template. So contemporary. A departure for you but an excellent backdrop for your posts. Let the type and photos stand out. I get what you’re doing. Plus, your template is echoing this post. Neutral background with photos being your accent. Go on Tim Gunn.


Leave a Reply

