03
Sep
07

Dried Florals for Fall

There is an awkward area above our refrigerator. I keep my large ceramic bowls there, but the space still needs a shot of something else to keep the kitchen from looking “enhh.”

I normally put hydrangeas from the garden in a ceramic chinoiserie cache pot in that spot, but I need that for the master bedroom now.
P1010878.JPG

So yesterday while David and I were at Michaels I looked for a replacement container. We decided that this patinated coppery, bronzy, leathery looking one would work well with my maple cabinets. And the pattern was large and simple enough not to compete with the fine, “all-over” texture of the hydrangea I knew I would feature in the arrangement.

Speaking of hydrangeas, the variety I use is called ‘Annabelle’ and it is super easy to grow. We have six shrubs (you can barely see them behind the tin rooster in my header) that provide plenty of cut blooms for us, and you if you want any. Just ask. (*I put cutting and drying instructions below.) I needed ten hydrangea stems for this arrangement. The green will soften as they dry.

To add mass and textural variety to the hydrangeas I worked in some other dried florals. Nine lotus pods, the chocolate colored things, helped mix it up.

Fall Arrangement

But the colors were starting to get muddy so I needed to brigthen them up a little. I was tempted to crib some orange colored flowers that came one to a package of other stuff that I didn’t need. I thought I might mix and match until the bunch was more like what I wanted. Dave said that would be stealing. He had a point. Fortunately his eagle eye solved my moral dilemma by spotting these long, peachy colored pods. I think I ended up using about ten of these.

Five sprigs of flat, broad dried leaves (Dave, what were those called again?) and some eucalyptus (I know, kind of grandmothery, but I still love it) and a sprig of purplish grasses and I had what I needed.

Actually, just a little more than I needed, so I made another smaller (and kind of clunky) arrangement for the downstairs bathroom.

Leftovers

*If you use hydrangeas as cut flowers: Once you cut them (I use kitchen shears because I’m lazy, but pruners would work better), light a candle and hold the cut end of the stem over the flame until it blackens slightly. This allows the stem to take up water. If you plan to dry them, just put them in a vase with water (or water filled floral foam, which is what I used this time) and let the water evaporate. The flowers will dry and hold their form. Or you can skip the vase by tying a bunch of fresh cut stems together and hanging them upside down somewhere dry until they are papery.

1 Response to “Dried Florals for Fall”


  1. September 4, 2007 at 12:49 pm

    Troy, your arrangement is fantastic! You have a true talent for floral arrangement. The leaves in question are the ever popular salal leaf…you know the ones. The colors are so nice and are a veiled reference to Autumn, subliminal if you will. Unlike my place that looks like a department store when I’m done decorating. Anyway, looks great as always. And, the bathroom arrangement is a great scale for the counter. I like that you’re bring Fall there as well.


Leave a Reply

