05
Jul
07

Master Bedroom – More Upholstery Lessons

I’ve been under the weather lately, so I hope you’ll forgive me if these aren’t the best pictures. They at least give a clue of the direction we’re headed.

Chair and Chest

As I’ve said before, this particular room makeover is about using what we already have when possible and inexpensive items when I have to purchase something. (Yes, I realize how cheap that sounds. The shoe fits.)

Rocking Chair

The rocker was a gift from John’s mom, one of her auction finds.

Arm Chair
The armchair is one of my auction finds ($50.00 at Greenfield, Indiana auction). It is more comfortable than it may look. The red (more of a paprika?) chenille fabric was leftover from another chair project, and the upholsterer (not the same one who did the gold striped chair) used every bit of what I had left.

This brings me to some further thoughts on upholsterers—T & H required me to buy new fabric because Tom wanted 9 yards to do the chair. Upholsterers ask for that much not because they will need it, but because they MIGHT need it if they make a mistake and have to redo a section, which I don’t have a problem with since I make mistakes, too. T & H also noted that a new cushion was needed and just built it into the project price.

The upholsterer for the red chairs, a Mr. Brown, who I tried at the recommendation of a fabric store here in town didn’t do quite as fine a job as T & H (the rocker cushion needed to be a refurbished and wasn’t, but in his defense I assumed he would do that and didn’t ask him to). At the same time, I know when he looked at the amount of fabric I had he knew he there was no margin for error. He could have easily said, “you’ll need 2 more yards for this project” but he didn’t, which saved me a lot of time and money. He charged me $200.00 to do both. So all in all, I’m okay with how these two turned out. They are both comfortable, and I like they way they look. Mr. Brown was the right person for that job, and T & H for the other.

I got the lamp on the table above at Midland Antiques Market, which is just down the street from our house. Here is their website with a few directions that come in handy. Midland usually has what I need when what I need is a particular and interesting second-hand something. Some of the staff can be a little frosty, but the selection is awesome (two floors of an old factory building). Don’t expect to find outrageous bargains (they know their stuff). But many times the price is right. This brass accented glass pillar lamp with foil barrel shade was $49.95. (Lamp needs to be raised, will probably put it on a stack of books later.)

The chest, an East Side Auction find ($60.00) used to be John’s bedside table. Dave suggested moving it here and I think it works. John’s mom is going to help me size a piece of leather for the top, which it was always meant to have.

Here is what we have left to do:

-Make a leather inset for the top of the chest
-Pick up 8×10 jute rug I bought from Lowes
-Put together book case
-Purchase a good sized palm
-One accent pillow for the bed
-Accessorize (the last few details that can typically bog me down)

None of this is insurmountable. It just takes time and energy to pull together and I need to feel a little better before I can tackle them. Hopefully soon.

4 Responses to “Master Bedroom – More Upholstery Lessons”


  1. July 5, 2007 at 3:47 pm

    I’m so sorry you’re not feeling well! The room is looking really nice.

  2. July 5, 2007 at 8:48 pm

    Pull it together girl, we’ve got some work to do on Saturday!!! The room looks faboo. Don’t forget to show your fans the completed window treatment.

  3. 3 juliebelle
    July 5, 2007 at 11:29 pm

    why did i have a weird image of a hand when you said you had to purchase a palm?
    the room is shaping up SMASHINGLY well.
    can’t wait to see it in person someday!

  4. 4 juliebelle
    July 5, 2007 at 11:29 pm

    and get well soon.


Leave a Reply

