02
Jul
07

A Good, Small Book Case is Hard to Find

I know I haven’t posted in a coon’s age, but I’ll have a photo update soon, and the room is almost finished. In the meantime, here is what’s been going on:

  • Victorian rocker and arm chairs are back from upholsterer (more on those two tomorrow).
  • Purchased a lamp.
  • Just bought this book case from Overstock.com. It wasn’t exactly what I was looking for colorwise, but it is solid wood, the size is perfect, and with shipping and taxes it only cost $109.00, which is pretty decent deal.

bookcase

Have you ever used Overstock.com?  I’ve eyed their stuff for awhile, but never ordered anything.  They have interesting things (not just funiture) and a similar book case to this one at International Furniture Imports here in town was $240.00.  I’m anxious to see if I like what I get. 

In any case, I had NO luck at any of my second-hand furniture sources and I don’t have time right now to get to auctions. I’m surprised by how hard it was to find decent and small book cases. Hope this one works. Worst case scenario, I may have to paint it, but again, the price was right.

Dave the installer just called and said he will come and install the last two brackets on the shades and hang my sheers tomorrow a.m. Will take pictures. I promise.

7 Responses to “A Good, Small Book Case is Hard to Find”


  1. 1 juliebelle
    July 2, 2007 at 4:54 pm

    this table reminds me of one that i have been eyeing from ballard designs for sometime. they have affordable interesting pieces. i like to lookat their catalog from time to time.

    here’s the table i mentioned:http://www.ballarddesigns.com/jump.jsp?sort=0&itemType=PRODUCT&AS=1&keyword=bookseller&itemID=1185

  2. July 3, 2007 at 2:05 pm

    I love the bookcase you chose – it’s really nice. I can’t wait to see everything finished – it’s going to be quite a room. Will you come do my house next?! 🙂

  3. July 3, 2007 at 5:37 pm

    Thanks! I’m a little afraid that the build up may not match the final result. But if I don’t post random updates like this one, I got nothin’ for the moment. Though, lately I’ve been thinking about blogging about Elle Decor, which has really impressed me in its last few issues.

  4. July 3, 2007 at 5:38 pm

    Oh, and Belle, thanks for the Ballard link. Nice to have more resources available.

  5. July 4, 2007 at 11:24 pm

    Troy, thanks for the visit today (July 4th). Looking forward to seeing the bookcase installed. I too searched for a long time before I found my bookcase. Years ago, Kittles had a department called Marketplace. Lots of third world treasures, interesting things. That’s where I found mine. Sadly, I had to pay a lot but I was desperate. I do love it still, so I guess it was worth it. What’s more sad is that they did away with that department. So many cool things there. Why does that happen to us? Marketplace, Country Friends,……I’m scared for the design future. We need an ABC Carpet and Home right here in Indy…or maybe we should go on exploratory shopping missions. Did you hear we’re getting an Anthropologie store at the Mall? Yippee!

  6. July 5, 2007 at 2:36 pm

    Dave, I’m stoked about Anthropologie, but I do agree that we need to start a search for new resources. Did you know Keystone Antiques (lower Keystone, just above Fall Creek) is only open by appointment now? A sign on their door says retail sales are down so this was there only option. The economy is sad I’m afraid.

  7. 7 Cherrie
    May 14, 2008 at 2:15 pm

    Hey~ I love this book case 🙂
    It’s classic and be suited in the design of home.


Leave a Reply

