19
Jun
07

Goodbye Country Friends

As David said when he told me this last week, “I hope you’re sitting down.”  Country Friends, my favorite store for vintage and affordable sit around stuff is closing.  If you hop up there soon (in the shopping center at Dean Rd. & 86th St. in Indianapolis), you’ll get some bargains, but don’t wait too long. 

I can’t believe this will be the end of Michael.  He has too much creative energy to fold things up for good. 

10 Responses to “Goodbye Country Friends”


  1. June 19, 2007 at 8:38 pm

    Oh, gosh! That is so sad! I had my heart set on visiting Country Friends the next time I was in Indianapolis.

  2. June 20, 2007 at 12:48 pm

    I’m crying right now. Troy, we MUST go on Saturday morning. Do you understand me? MUST go!

  3. June 20, 2007 at 3:12 pm

    This is sad – I liked that store. 😦 I was planning on going to the yarn store near there this weekend, I will be stopping at Country Friends for a goodbye.

  4. 4 Barb
    June 26, 2007 at 3:23 pm

    Okay, so now I hear it! Didn’t see it in the paper…can’t believe you didn’t call me. We went in Saturday and so much is gone. I am soooo saaaaaad!

  5. June 26, 2007 at 3:47 pm

    I have to believe that Michael will open up again somewhere else, Barb. There is no way he will survive without a direction in which to put all of that energy.

  6. September 22, 2007 at 8:37 pm

    When did it close, anybody?

  7. 7 vicki
    September 23, 2007 at 1:54 am

    Oh my gosh! it has been several months since we have been to Indy….and I just learned that country Friends has closed! I am in morning…I loved everything about the place, they had such wonderful and different things…Please tell me that they are going to open up in a different location?

  8. September 23, 2007 at 9:31 pm

    Mike and Peg, They closed mid-Summer.

    Vicki, I hear ya. I haven’t heard any further news about a new shop reopening. If I do, you can bet I’ll post it here as soon as I know.

  9. 9 amy
    September 26, 2007 at 11:42 pm

    Country Friends is re opening the first of October in the 71st and Allisonville area. Just give them a call.

  10. 10 jay
    January 6, 2009 at 4:36 pm

    I attended the last sale a few weeks ago at the warehouse. It was so sad to see the bare shelves and the stacks of rugs. I came away with a basket full of treasures, and I’ll never forget that place. I hope something comes along to replace it once the economy gets back on its feet.


Leave a Reply

