07
Jun
07

Sheer Off – 2007

As the bedroom evolves it is taking on a coastal feel—probably due to the gold accents, the blue paint and the dark wood furniture. John noticed it first. Then Dave mentioned that the space was making him think “British colonial” (more the Caribbean island colonies, than the original U.S. 13).

All of which is fine, but if that’s the direction the room is going, the window treatments need to follow. I’ve already ordered Ambria matchstick shades (color: Fruitwood) from Lowes, unlined so light can filter through. This leads me to my next seemingly ridiculous design quandary: What fabric to use to soften them up. Dave suggested something light, which I think is a good call. Sheers are perfect (typically cheaper than other kinds of coverings), but which sheers are right? There are hundreds.

Well, after shopping this weekend I narrowed it down to two. So I’m presenting anyone who is interested the opportunity to weigh in on Sheer-Off 2007.

Here are the candidates side by side in two photos. Lefty is a polyester. Righty is a silk organza. FYI- the window is east facing and we keep it open a lot of the time. Let me know which you prefer and why. I wish you could touch them.

Sheers  (14) copy

Sheers 2 (21) copy

Since it will be two weeks before the blinds are installed I don’t have to make a decision right this second, but it’s hard for me not to have an opinion now. John has one, too.

7 Responses to “Sheer Off – 2007”


  1. 1 Barb
    June 10, 2007 at 3:37 pm

    Okay, you asked, you got it. In the first pictures my vote was for the one on the left because although it was still sheer it gives the illusion of just a little more softness, however then you used the “p” word. As I scrolled down and saw the up close & personal shot, although liking the pattern on the left, it changes the feel of the room from coastal…thus, my final vote is for the more expensive, breezy silk organza. (Excluding the wrinkles & price tag, did I vacilate too much?)

  2. June 11, 2007 at 3:14 pm

    Troy, just now reading this post. I say go for the one from BBB. The silk organza appears a little too flimsy for the purpose. The fact that its poly doesn’t bother me. More easily washable which isn’t always a bad thing.

  3. June 11, 2007 at 8:40 pm

    I, too, prefer the one on the left. The “P” word made me melodramatically gasp, clutch my chestal region, and faint onto the exquisite, leather-upholstered bench in my office, but when I came to, I was emboldened by the Runningpeanut’s comment. Therefore, I agree: down with silk organza (whatever that means), up with polyester!

  4. 4 gunstreamgirl
    June 12, 2007 at 9:53 pm

    my first vote was for teh more crinkly one on the left, but now that i look at it a little more, i think i like the silk one.

    if they are temporary, i’d go with the cheaper option.

  5. 5 momunderground
    June 15, 2007 at 3:31 pm

    Okay, before I realized that you were going to have us vote, I was already thinking of the Belgian Linen sheers from Restoration Hardware. My mom has them and they’re loverly. I’m not a huge fan of slippery sheers.

    But, if you’re really set on the two pictured, I’d go with the ones on the left. They seem to hang better, thanks to that polyester, I’m sure! 🙂

  6. June 15, 2007 at 7:52 pm

    Mom U., the silk ones in the picture also are from Restoration Hardware, or Resurrection Hardware as Running Peanut calls it. I have to admit, they are my favorite. I love the hand and the way the silk catches light, which you can’t really see here. I loved the Belgian linen sheers, too. For some reason I thought they might not work. Were they maybe too opaque?
    After doing some research I’ve decided that the sun would destroy the silk in a few years and at 59.00 a panel, I need a little longer shelf life. Linen wouldn’t have that problem though. Maybe I’ll go back to Resurrection and give those a second look.
    If not, it looks like I’ll go for the 19.00 a panel sheer from Bed Bath and Beyond. Those were John’s picks.

  7. June 15, 2007 at 11:09 pm

    P.S. It is so helpful to have so many eyes on a project. Thank you for sharing your valuable insights!


Leave a Reply

