01
Jun
07

Paint and Lighting is Up, Cleaning Tid Bits

Well, all the painting is done except for the detailing. After climbing over furniture to find a spot to sleep Tuesday and Wednesday, we actually slept in our room again last night. The redo isn’t done yet, but here is the wingback we had reupholstered (labor at T & H Upholstery in Indy – $260.00). I apologize for the crassness of posting prices, but I find the lack of readily available information about this kind of stuff kind of frustrating, so I’m putting it out there.

Reupholstered Wingback

I think the fabric (Calico Corners – 9 yards – $200.00 [discounted price]) Dave helped me pick looks pretty good with the paint color. You can see both here.

The redo has been a good op to clean things that I never would have otherwise (My tendency to ignore baseboards is one of the reasons this blog is called “Good Home” and not “Great Home”). When our next door neighbor Mindy heard we were going to hire professionals to clean our rugs she insisted that we let her bring her rug cleaner over and have a go at it.

So Wed. night while John and I painted one half of the room, she cleaned the carpet in the other. THEN she came back the next day to do the other half! She refuses to let us pay her. We’ll have to figure out another way to thank her because the carpet looks really good. Mindy rocks!

Screen Cleaning

To clean the screens on our windows we decided to put them in the shower and just hose them off with a little attachable sprayer that I got John from Restoration Hardware one year for Christmas (it was actually on his wish list). I’m thinking I may clean all of our screens this way in the future.

Here is one of the chandeliers.

Lighting

I think they are hanging a little low, which we can easily fix (going the other direction is a little harder). I’m going to see if I can talk John’s mom into sewing sleeves for the chains—either in champagne or wheat colored linen.

Lighting

My favorite thing so far is the paint color. It’s the only one besides the yellow in our living room that I’ve ever liked the minute it went on the wall. I usually have to get used to new colors even when I like them a lot. This blue is hard to photograph though.

Some potentially bad news. I know I promised before pics, but they may be lost. When my computer hard drive went a couple weeks back they may have been erased. I’ll know next week, I think. Keep your fingers crossed.

5 Responses to “Paint and Lighting is Up, Cleaning Tid Bits”


  1. 1 momunderground
    June 1, 2007 at 3:37 pm

    Looking good! I don’t mind it when people post prices … unless they’re bragging about how MUCH something cost. Otherwise, I think it’s very helpful. I have a chair I’d like to reupholster (thanks to a leaking bag of baby wipes that turned the upholstery pink for some reason) and have been wondering what a ballpark cost would be for labor.

  2. June 1, 2007 at 8:58 pm

    I love this room already. The chandeliers are gorge. I can’t wait to see the finished product. You’re doing a great job.

  3. 3 readersguide
    November 22, 2008 at 12:30 am

    I love this chair! (And the paint color.) Thanks! (And I’m glad to know how much it costs. I need to reupholster some chairs, and had no idea what to expect.)


Leave a Reply

