24
May
07

Bedroom Status Report 2

Looks like I have a deadline for finishing the bedroom. June 6. Our friend Scott is coming to town for a conference and he’ll need the guest suite, so it will need to be free of the furniture from our bedroom placed there temporarily while we work.

For the sake of scheduling ease (our lives are too complicated to work around someone else at the moment), we’ve decided to do the painting ourselves. Know that I will say at least fifty times as we are painting, “we totally should have hired someone.” John will ignore me, as he should in such cases.

BTW, I like Benjamin Moore paints (also Sherwin Williams, Porter and even Behr-I can’t afford Farrow and Ball), but something it took me awhile to realize is that not all paint stores are alike. Their mixing skills vary. So either get all of the paint you need on one trip or find a good paint store because if you run out, you may well end up bringing back a slightly different color or finish the second time.  That happened to me once, and it annoys me everytime I see the result in our kitchen.

We’ll be using:

Palladian Blue (HC-144 – Eggshell)
from Rollie Williams Paint Spot
5292 E 65th St
Indianapolis, IN 46220
(317) 842-6772

Rollie’s is a Benjamin Moore dealer here in town that I’ve used before with good luck.

Dave, who is in the residential leasing biz, says a cleaning service could do wonders for our carpet and that we really don’t have to replace it. So that should save some trouble and a little money. If I can get him to provide the company’s name I’ll call them and post their info here as a resource for Indy folks.

John is on vacation next week, so we’ll hit the ground running with painting next Tuesday when we get back from Batesville.

I still need to:

Call and order paint
Measure for, then order matchstick blinds and window hardware
Pick up the reupholstered wingback
Take two other chairs to be reupholstered

Keep your fingers crossed and pray for John. As much as I try to be good, I get antsy in the middle of weeks long projects. And I can get kind of sullen towards the end when it seems like the details will never come together.

4 Responses to “Bedroom Status Report 2”


  1. May 29, 2007 at 2:25 pm

    As the old Danville High School cheer goes,
    “You can do it, you can do it, you can (clap, clap)!”

  2. May 29, 2007 at 10:43 pm

    as much as i love a good room re-do, the thought of tackling a room right now makes my head go all googly-eyed like large marge in peewee’s big adventure.

    i need some opinions on a room re-do, speaking of. would love your help when you are ready for a new challenge.

  3. May 31, 2007 at 8:06 pm

    I WANT PICTURES, I WANT PICTURES.
    GIVE ME BEFORES, GIVE ME BEFORES!
    (shouted chant-style)

  4. June 1, 2007 at 2:29 pm

    Julie, you know anytime you need anything, all you have to do is call. I’ll be seeing you in a couple of weeks.

    Dave, see latest post.


Leave a Reply

