04
Apr
07

Picking Favorites

Jack Frost will bite Indiana’s behind for the next several days with lows in the 20s. Chill enough to wither all of the already blooming tulips and daffodils. To soften the blow I cut all of the blooming stems in our yard and made a few bouquets to enjoy indoors.

These double daffodils and yellow tulips make me smile, so I photographed them. But when it came time to choose their best shot (ala ANTM), I had a hard time deciding–The one that shows the blue and white vase I just bought? The one in the dark blue vase (actually a water glass), which is probably the best formal arrangement (not that I really know anything about making those)? Nothing but billowy blooms?

John helped me narrow the photos I shot down to these three. But I’m still having trouble choosing just one (not that I really have to, I just like picking favorites). What do you think makes a good flower shot? Is there a clear winner here for you?

Daffodils and Tulips

Daffodils & Tulips in a Blue Vase

Daffodils & Tulips close up

4 Responses to “Picking Favorites”


  1. April 4, 2007 at 1:00 pm

    I’m going with #2…as I mentioned to you, it just has a good feel to it. But I agree, you don’t have to just pick one.

  2. April 4, 2007 at 1:32 pm

    I like #1 the best, but perhaps that’s because the cuteness of Daniel and Mari grabs my attention in the background.

    They are all very nice!!

  3. April 4, 2007 at 2:29 pm

    Thank you for visiting my blog – yours is beautiful. It’s like a mini vacation at my desk 🙂 Beautiful flowers and rooms!

  4. April 4, 2007 at 2:38 pm

    I vote for photo 2. Best composition. Like the square frames as a backdrop for the organic flowers. Good light source from the left too.


Leave a Reply

