01
Apr
07

Wild and Wiry – Spring Buffet 2007

Spring Buffet 2007 - B

Had Pam Parker of J. P. Parker Designs, across from Shapiros’ Deli on lower Meridian do an arrangement for the buffet this weekend since my friends Felley, Georgette, and Lori were coming to visit (a very special occassion). I bought a dried arrangement from Pam a few years back, which I still use at Thanksgiving, so I was glad to see she opened a shop. She used to do work from her not-so-easy-to-get-to Shelbyville, Indiana farm.

I didn’t ask for anything complicated–just a bunch of forsythia so I could pull the look of a wild shrub indoors. Eastertime in Indiana is bushy and windy and kind of sparse in terms of color (this year has been a beautiful exception).

The underlying structures of gardens (fences, yard ornaments) play a major visual role in the outdoors in March and April, so I tried to use that idea without getting too literal. The wire stands and urn (as well as the eggs and rabbit) are from Yield House/Country Friends, a nutty place that will have its own post soon.

I also had some Tajik textiles I got from my friend Chris who’s been studying in Central Asia. I liked their punchy, random floral designs so I threw them in, too.

When you go to Pam’s place, you get the added bonus of seeing Linda Adele Goodine’s luscious monumental photography on the walls. Words won’t do them justice (at least mine won’t), so I’m not going to even try to describe them here. I’ve been a fan of Linda’s work for awhile now, so I was pleasantly surprised to see them there.

Oh, and here’s a parting shot of Claire on her landing. She thought the number of photos I was taking just to get that mediocre shot of the buffet was ludicrous.

Claire's Landing

1 Response to “Wild and Wiry – Spring Buffet 2007”


  1. April 2, 2007 at 1:31 pm

    I’m liking the wiry theme. Wiry stems, wiry baskets, etc. Didn’t think it would work but boy howdy, looky there.
    P.S.-Claire is GORGEOUS!


Leave a Reply

